Energy Attribute Certificates

The solution to scope 2 emission reductions

Redshaw Advisors work globally to acquire and retire Energy Attribute Certificates (EACs) in order to validate renewable electricity claims.

We are available for independent advice and trustworthy certificate procurement

Types of EAC

There are 4 main types of EACs:

  • Guarantees of Origin (GOs),  Europe, issued by the EECS
  • Renewable Energy Guarantees of Origin (REGOs), UK, issued by Ofgem
  • Renewable Energy Certificates (RECs), North America, Issued by Green-e
  • International Renewable Energy Certificates (IRECs), worldwide, issued by the International REC Standard

There are some other national systems in place. For example, in Japan, Australia and Poland.



Validate your renewable energy claims

EACs allow you to specify where your electricity comes from and claim the relevant benefits. An EAC is used through the process of cancellation: which retires the relevant certificate and allocates the environmental attributes of the electricity to the single end-user. This is made possible by the fact that each EAC has a serial number unique to that MWh, which allows tracing through creation, issuance, transfer and redemption.